Day 35- God’s Power In Your Weakness by Athena Velazquez

5 “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born

I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.” 6 “Ah,

Sovereign LORD,” I said, “I do not know how to speak; I am only a child.

” 7 But the LORD said to me, “Do not say, ‘I am only a child.’ You must

Go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you. 8 Do not

Be afraid of them, for I am with you and will rescue you,” declares the

LORD.  9 Then the LORD reached out his hand and touched my mouth

 and said to me, “Now, I have put my words in your mouth. 10 See,

today I appoint you over nations and kingdoms to uproot and tear

down, to destroy and overthrow, to build and to plant.” Jeremiah 1:5-10

Admitting the “Thorn” in our lives

This chapter ministered to my life, as I read this chapter I began to

reflect on my life.  I reflected on High School, the UTC, Youth Ministry,

and Leadership, I always had this thorn of being “SHY”!

I would ditch a class in school if I had to give a presentation in class,

I would remember being so afraid to blast at a rally when I was in the

UTC, or ministering at my local church at Women’s Trainings.  The

difference between school and church was that I actually did not run

from the challenge in ministry, because I knew that God was in me and

it would be him operating in my life.

Paul admitted that he had a thorn, and everyone that reads God’s word

knows he had weaknesses but we all know as well that it was God that

worked in his life.  Paul is probably one of the characters in the bible that

most people in our ministry can relate to, for the simple reason that

in Paul’s weaknesses, God was made strong and glorified.

Being a Influence through our Weakness

I love this part in Day 35 of this book; the reason is that it provokes you to

allow God to use your weakness.  I remember always telling God in my prayers

that I just want to Him to be glorified through my life.  I knew that if I was doing

God’s Will that anyone who knew me would know that it was God’s power and

not my own and because of that people would know that God could do the same

in their lives.

We all have weaknesses, and our weaknesses come in different shapes and sizes, mine maybe being shy and yours can be something else.  A weakness is whatever limits you and you can do nothing to change it.  This is why God is so awesome cause God is not limited by our limitations.

We have got to be ok with our weaknesses cause God has deliberately given them to us in order to demonstrate his power through us.

Let’s allow God to be glorified in our lives as he continues to use the weak to shame the strong.

27But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong.”                          1 Corinthians 1:27 (NIV)

 “If we stay focused on our weaknesses we just might miss our destiny”

Being used through my weaknesses,

 Athena Velazquez

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

